FODMAPs week two: I’m so sick of omelettes I could vomit

This is the kind of food I'm missing the most at the moment.
This is the kind of food I’m missing the most at the moment.

I didn’t really want to write a post today, because I don’t like to be 100% negative about things.  But the FODMAPs diet this week has been 100% negative!

First, after my excitement last week that the diet seemed to be working, this week, I’ve had stomach aches, bloating and cramps all week.  I haven’t lost any weight, and I’ve got a giant spot in the middle of my face.  It’s a lot harder to persuade yourself to stick to a diet if you don’t see it working, so I’ve also been eating way too much dairy.  Dairy doesn’t make me feel good at the best of times, so eating cheese and chocolate almost every day was guaranteed to make me feel like a failure.

Second, I’m feeling pretty stressed at the moment.  It’s the busiest time of the year at work, and I’m also flathunting.  So having to try and work in the confines of the world’s most restrictive diet alongside both those things is a real headache.  I have to plan what I’m going to eat a day in advance, and make myself a packed lunch, because the only FODMAP free take away food I can find is a jacket potato with butter and cheese.  And like I said, dairy is not great for me.

But because this is the real world, it’s not always easy to plan ahead and invest the time and effort needed to make a nice FODMAP free meal.  So I’m eating a lot of omelettes.  And I mean a lot – I’ve had five omelettes this week.  And now of course I’m fretting about my cholesterol, wondering if I’m doing myself more harm than good, and as stress is the number one thing that triggers my IBS, this is obviously not great.

I know I need to push on and persevere with the diet, and that nothing good come easy, and that it takes time to see results, but I’m feeling very demotivated.  I’m also concerned about how much salt I’m eating – all the gluten free substitutes I’ve been eating are weirdly sweet on the back of your mouth, so I’m adding more salt than is probably healthy to make up.

Oh, and don’t get me started on what it’s like living without the delicious, sweet, evil goodness of diet coke.  This is the longest I think I’ve ever gone without it.

If I’m going to stick to this for another six weeks, it’s clear that I can’t go on with this trial and error and egg approach.  My goal this week (in the tiny amounts of free time I’ll have) is to find the best gluten free substitutes, the healthiest alternatives, and a way of getting protein and calcium without eating eggs and cheese all day.  I feel almost like I need a science and nutrition degree to follow the diet, but I’m hoping that learning a bit more about what’s in what food will help me after I come off the diet as well, so I can improve my health overall.  In the meantime, it’s time to fall down the internet k-hole that is Pinterest, and see what gluten, legume, pulse, bean, onion, garlic, broccoli, cauliflower, and leek free recipes I can find…

3 thoughts on “FODMAPs week two: I’m so sick of omelettes I could vomit

  1. Gluten-free food is often really sweet and it’s so weird, I find that particularly with bread and other foods that don’t have much flavour to cover it up. Comparing brands, I found that Warburton’s “Newburn Bakehouse” bread tastes better than Genius, and is better for you according to the ingredients, with less sugar and salt and things. But I know you don’t eat a lot of bread. My GF diet is obviously not nearly as restrictive as your FODMAPs diet but I can still empathise with how you’re feeling — I’ve felt really rough this week, even though it’s coming up to two months since I went gluten-free, and it’s hard to believe it’s actually helping when I spend half my time on the loo or asleep for lack of energy. Like, come on, universe, I’m paying three times as much for my food — could I at least not feel horrendous every time I eat?

    Hope you find foods you can eat that make you feel better soon.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ugh the dreaded fodmap diet. It didn’t help me much either . I think I mostly have reactions to pretty much everything lol I’d be careful with egg yolks though. Heathers Ibs site lists it as a trigger and I def have issues with eggs. I only have them in baked goods occasionally . Hang in there!

    Like

Leave a Reply

